eSophie: A Blog Experiment

My name is Sophie and I research everything.

Tagging: A Social & Emotional Affair

leave a comment »

Wordpress Tag Event 3.20.2011

As you may (or may not) know, my blog is an “experimental” blog. I’ve decided to actively become part of the Blogosphere because I want to find out and learn about what everyone is reading, writing, thinking, talking, sharing, et cetera, et cetera.

In my investigation, I came across a very astounding place. I think my address bar calls it “http://en.wordpress.com/tags/” but for the rest of us, it’s where all of WordPress’ hottest tags mingle. For the most part, I think the big shots: News, Music, Life, Politics, Photography, Travel, Food, Fashion, Family and Art are hosting the parties for a while. And there’s a whole lot of up-and-coming Socialites: Events, Local, Poetry, Entertainment, Recipes, Culture, Love, Technology, Environment, Business, and Humor (just to name a few.)

I invited myself to WordPress’ Daily Tag Event (again open to the public via http://en.wordpress.com/tags/) and perused through the crowd and observed a few things:

Dinner, Gaming, Me,(whoever that is), Songs, Rants, and Ramblings were the quietest members. Ironically, Rants, and Ramblings didn’t have much to say and were merely bystanders at the event. Their presence was quite small and not so excitin, quite frankly, so I quickly moved on and weaved my way into the crowd. I probably passed by five or six groups of meager tags with a one or two posers (such as Poems trying to be Poetry and Photo Galleries trying to be Photography) until I finally arrived at the hotspot of the event where the dancers were dancing and the talkers were talking. I noticed Humor was relatively popular amongst his group and immediately, I recalled briefly passing by Fun (who was standing next to Society) and thought about the sad endings of friendships. I supposed Humor had left Fun or perhaps Fun never made it as big as Humor. Whatever the case, it made me sad when I thought about it…

So I quickly pulled myself together, fixed my hair and cursor, and moved on to more exciting things: the upper level at the fancy Tag Event where the big shots mingled. Their presence shined prominently, overlooking the balcony. Surely, News himself was there along with Music, Life, and Politics. And of course there were two of my favorite figures: Photography and Travel.

It was exciting for me to even look up to the balcony and think about being up there with the rest of the Hot Tags… Yes, where all the Buzz was at. My knees were shaking with excitement and my cursor almost stopped working! I think I can easily blend in somewhere in the midst of the party and make my way up. Perhaps, if I’m lucky enough, I’ll get introduced to one of the Hot Tags and get in on the “in.” Exciting thought, I know!

So if you’ve never been to the WordPress Tag Event, go experience it for yourself sometime soon and let me know how you enjoy it. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

